January 2015

Discussion forum for sightings.
David M

January 2015

Post by David M »

I believe UKB member William is already off the mark for 2015 with a Red Admiral sighting in Exeter!

Tomorrow looks to be promising with 10-12c temperatures and a bit of sunshine on offer.
William

Re: January 2015

Post by William »

I am indeed - delighted to see one fluttering around the eaves of Exeter St David's, platform 5 of all places!

Happy New Year All!

BWs,

William
Vince Massimo
Administrator & Stock Contributor

Post by Vince Massimo »

The weather conditions today were the same as those on Christmas Day when I saw my last Red Admiral of 2014 at my local hot-spot viewtopic.php?f=8&t=8075#p93872

I have been monitoring this rather nondescript location since 2006 and found that it is an established overwintering site for this species. It comprises a strip of road, about 200m long orientated south to north which is sheltered from the prevailing winds by a belt of ivy covered trees on the western side. It is a cul-de-sac and there are houses on the eastern side.
Red Admiral site, Crawley (facing north) 2-Jan-2015
Red Admiral site, Crawley (facing north) 2-Jan-2015
The orientation, sheltered aspect and expanse of tarmac seem to create a warm pocket in the early afternoons which draws the butterflies out when the sun is at the right angle. All sightings here in November and December have been between 12.30 and 13.15. Sure enough, a Red Admiral was seen at 12.55 today, basking high on the ivy on the left side of the site. At that time the air temperature was 9C and the light westerly wind was being blocked by the trees.
Red Admiral - Crawley, Sussex 2-Jan-2015
Red Admiral - Crawley, Sussex 2-Jan-2015
The butterflies also bask on the rear wall of the house on the right and the south-facing fence, as well as the tarmac. Additionally they can sometimes be found 100m further south in front of the New Moon PH.