First post on this forum

Discussion forum for butterfly photography. You can also get your photos reviewed here!
MarkG

First post on this forum

Post by MarkG »

Hi

This is my first post on the forum.
I would like to ask members advice on a camera that's able to take good macro pics.
Having looked on a few sites most advise lens way out of my price range and then there's the price of the camera on top of that. With new cameras coming out every year is there good camera that I should look at? By the way as you may have guessed I'm new to photography but have thought for sometime about nature photography.
I have read about the Lumix FZ45 on this forum is there any others that I should look at.
My price range is around £500.
Thanks
I'm so glad I found this forum!
MikeOxon

Re: First post on this forum

Post by MikeOxon »

Always a difficult question to answer since it depends so much on your aims and ambitions.

If you want top quality photos of publishable standard, then you should be looking at a DSLR. The well-established systems are Nikon and Canon, which both cater for almost every possible need.

There's no need to go 'upmarket' for optimum photo quality - more expensive models are more rugged and have more external controls, with less reliance on 'menus', but photo quality is similar. I use Nikon, so will mention the Nikon D3200 body, which currently sells for about £250 (including 'cashback' offer) and they have an 85mm macro lens for £375. Whereas digital cameras soon go out of date, owing to advances in technology, lenses can last a long time, so are worth a greater investment. It's always worth considering second-hand lenses if your budget is limited.