Unidentified Blue

Discussion forum for getting a butterfly identified.
Paulcrook

Unidentified Blue

Post by Paulcrook »

Could someone help me with this one please. It was spotted on Whitmoor Common, Guildford. I think it's either a Chalkhill Blue or Adonis Blue.

Thanks
PaulImage
Pete Eeles
Administrator & Stock Contributor

Post by Pete Eeles »

Hi Paul,

I think this is a female Chalkhill Blue.

It's a Chalkhill or Adonis Blue because the white fringe is cut by black bands.

And it's a female Chalkhill Blue because the colour between the red dots on the hindwing and the white fringe is brown & white, rather than blue. As explained here:

http://www.ukbutterflies.co.uk/species. ... nis%20Blue

Cheers,

- Pete
Last edited by Pete Eeles on Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
eccles

Post by eccles »

I'm not saying you're wrong, Pete as I'm new at the CB/AB identity game, but an adonis was very interested in this female last week, and there's not a blue scale to be seen. It's a rather worn specimen though.

Paulcrook

Post by Paulcrook »

Thanks for the replies. I wasn't expecting to see either a Chalkhill or an Adonis so this one threw me a bit!
Pete Eeles

Post by Pete Eeles »

Hi eccles,

I think your female is Chalkhill also :)

Cheers,

- Pete
Pete Eeles

Post by Pete Eeles »

This thread has been bugging me :)

Distinguishing the females of Adonis and Chalkhill Blue is pretty difficult. So I took a trip to Martin Down today and spent 3 hours looking solely for females of both species. I've come to the following conclusion:

1. Even close-up, it's sometimes difficult to see the blue scales on the female Adonis Blue, between the red hindwing markings and the white fringe.

2. The female Adonis Blue has a blue/purple sheen that is missing from the female Chalkhill Blue.