Small Blue

Discussion forum for sightings.
RobS

Small Blue

Post by RobS »

Ive worked in Maidenhead for the last 24 years and have visited Maidenhead Thicket numerous times through work(usually small fires in the woods).im a firefighter,not an arsonist !! :D .Travelling back from a medical in Reading today i had half an hour to kill until i was expected back so i decided to visit the site to see if there where any butterflies about.Initially it was overcast as i wandered through the meadows and i noticed only a few meadow browns and some tatty looking gatekeepers.Turning back towards the car park the sun made an appearance and i noticed a few more species flying in and around the wild flowers.A lovely Holly blue landed close to me and allowed me to study it in detail,as did a small copper and a common blue.For the second time in a week i saw a Brown Argus,a stunning example too,displaying itself to the sun,without a care in the world.Nearly back at the car park,and pleased with my 30 mins in the field,i noticed a recent dog poo,and as i stepped around it i noticed a small butterfly sitting on top.On closer inspection,and this must have looked strange to any passing drivers,i realised it could be a Small Blue.much smaller than the Holly blue id recently seen,but with similar underwing markings,the upperside was nearly black in colour.It was joined by its female mate soon after who circled it and landed near but not actually landing on the faeces.She was more of a dark brown colour and not quite as trusting as the male who never left his spot.She would occasionally fly off,do a small circuit and land back at her original position.