ID PLEASE

Discussion forum for getting a butterfly identified.
Brian Anderson

ID PLEASE

Post by Brian Anderson »

Can anybody help tell me what i've seen?
Out taking pictures of Chalkhill Blues and found this smaller blue but not sure what it is. I've checked on line but remain unsure.
Attachments
Butterfly 6a.JPG
Butterfly 6a.JPG (28.59 KiB) Viewed 522 times
Neil Hulme

Re: ID PLEASE

Post by Neil Hulme »

Hi Brian,
It's a Chalkhill Blue.... just a bit battered!
Neil
Brian Anderson

Post by Brian Anderson »

I thought it looked like that too but i'm new to this game and it was so much smaller than the other Chalkhills it had me thinking it must be something else. Thanks for the reply though
Neil Hulme

Post by Neil Hulme »

Hi Brian,
Butterflies can be surprisingly variable in size. Last week I saw a Gatekeeper no larger than a Small Heath. Small Blues can be so tiny that they will amaze you .... others are the size of a Common Blue. But most individuals will fall within the average size range cited in textbooks.
Neil
Butterflymax

Post by Butterflymax »

Hi. Not had much time to visit the site lately - I've been spending much of my free time out photographing butterflies! July 24th was a great day in my back garden - I saw more species in an hour or so than in the whole of 2010. Red Admirals seem to be astonishingly high in number this year! Anyhow, I need help with a few things (sorry, I'm not sure how to start a fresh thread) at least one of which dates back to late June. Thank you to everyone in advance!

Max.
Attachments
Ashlawn Cutting again. I'm optimistic that this is a Brown Argus and not a female Common Blue. Can anyone verify this? Thanks!
Ashlawn Cutting again. I'm optimistic that this is a Brown Argus and not a female Common Blue. Can anyone verify this? Thanks!
I'm fairly sure this is a tatty male Meadow Brown at Ashlawn Cutting. Can anyone confirm - species, not location!