What would you suggest

Discussion forum for butterfly foodplants, and butterfly gardening in general.
bugmadmark

What would you suggest

Post by bugmadmark »

For sometime Ive been thinking of creating an area in my garden to attract butterflies/moths to feed. I have a very dry, sandy bank and no more than say 4 meters are in the sun (South westerly facing). It's quite dry due to roots from the overhanging Hawthorn tree. The bank needs building up with railway sleepers and some composted materials added to improve water retention etc. However, the one thing that does do well in the bank are nettles. My wife is always arguing that I should get rid of them but my excuse is that they may be used by butterflies and they keep my kids off the crumbling bank too! I've read over lotsof the forum notes here - and lots of plants have come up - but I'm no expert. I recognise I'm unlikely (without a lot of cash injection which i dont have with 3 kids to feed and entertain) to achieve perfect soil and so I need to largely work with what's there. Also, if i can find flowering plants that do well in these dry conditions im more likely to succeed!).The list of regular appearing plant names on this forum are

Sorrel & Fleabane (Pulicaria dysenterica) close together
Yellow and pale purple buddleias (B.lindleyana)
Verbena bonariensis/rigida
Oreganum vulare (Marjoram) Tony has some of this
Other herbs incl Rosemary, Thyme, Basil
Lavender (which french is prettier - but is it as good as traditional?)
Hemp Agrimony (american version)
Sedum dark red
Red Valerian Centranthus rubra
Field scabious
Hawkbit
Yellow niger
Ladies Smock
Purging Buckthorn (Rhamnus cathartica)
Fuschia - (variety?)
Erigerons/Globe thistle