A strange specimen

Discussion forum for getting a butterfly identified.
Zephirus

A strange specimen

Post by Zephirus »

I found this specimen in the stairs of my house:

This was in the staircase of my house, i dont know exactly the size of the butterfly but i know that each step has about 17.5cm, so probably the butterfly have about 5~10cm.
Here is the butterfly's foto in the step:

This specim was found today, in the north region of Portugal and it seems that specimen is not a local specie:

There is the exact location of the region (the region in the red circle)

I'm not an expert, but in my opinion this a butterfly from the papilionidae's family, probably a near cousin of the Papilio machaon, so probably it's from the Papilio genus in adition this specimen seems to be a male.
Can someone help me to identify the specie and the gender?

Regards...
Rogerdodge

Post by Rogerdodge »

It is a Scarce Swallowtail.
It is of the pale Iberian race (typical for where found).
It is widespread throughout the Iberian peninsular.
It is a beautiful specimen, but not rare.
Well done, keep your eyes peeled and you ought to see more.
Roger Harding
Zephirus

Post by Zephirus »

but it is a male? or with that zoom is not possible to identify?
In my opinion it seems to be a male...
Martin

Post by Martin »

Sorry to correct anyone Roger, but it's actually a Spanish Swallowtail - Iphiclides feisthamelii (as opposed to podalirius). I only know because I have a house near Marbella and my interest in butterflies started there.

Martin.
Rogerdodge

Post by Rogerdodge »

It was my impression that feisthameli is the Iberain (and S. French)sub-species of the Scarce Swallowtail. This from Collins Field Guide (Tolman & Lewington)
However, I notice that Lafranchis' Butterflies of Europe has it as a seperate species as you say.
Tolman (Photographic Guide to the Butterflies of Britain & Europe) doesn't list the sub-species at all.